Reba Spencer’s Baby Sweater Pattern

I made this in 2014 and decided to revisit this golden oldie. Still not on Ravelry database and it has only appeared twice, if I googled it correctly in a blog. Once by me and then by http://kayinkissimmee.blogspot.co.za/2010_04_01_archive.html were she mentioned that they are making this at their church. Did ask her some info, but did not hear back from here.

Here is a link to the pattern. http://www.pcusa.org/site_media/media/uploads/pda/pdfs/ba…

There is no “copyright” mentioned anywhere on the pattern and by all accounts its a very old pattern. So i think im okay by sharing my pattern with all

This will be trial and error as I am going to make it again. As per UK needle gauge – old 10 is 3.25mm and old 8 is 4mm. So, I am going to try and make this for a 6 month old and i think with 4mm from the start.

The wool I have chosen is Blue Label Classic Pullskein Double knit. Colour not to bright I hope

Gauge: 20 stitches and 28 rows = 10 cm
Weight DK / 8 ply (11 wpi)
How much? 1 skein = 100 grams
Colorway: 143 Dye lot 50225

Mirage 4ply – Colour Beige and i knitted with 2 strands to equal 8 ply.

So, let the fun begin..
**************************************

Now someone said to me that I should not put row for row account of what I do – its not professional as it should be from row a to row j – knit. Well, I hate that as then I have to get my pen and paper and write down those missing row numbers and mark the off as I go along. As this is my notes, I can write it as I want too. Enough said, back to pattern. I see the border is 3 sts each I normally like 5 sts but as this is a no-button sweater, lets go with the 3sts for each border.

Casting on 54 sts
Rows 1         knit
Row 2 :        knit
Row 3 :         k3 *p2tog, yo* repeat to last 5 sts, p2tog, k3 (53 stitches)
Row 4 :         knit
Row 5:          knit
Row 6 :        (first increase row) k3 *k1, kfb* to last 4 sts, k4 (76 stitches)
Row 7–10 :  knit
Row 11 :        k3 * k2tog, yo* to last 3 sts, yo, k3
Row 12–13 : knit
Row 14 :        (second increase row) k3 *kfb, k1* to last 5 sts, kfb, k4 ( 111 stitches)
Row 15–18 : knit
Row 19 :         k3 * k2tog, yo* to last 4 sts, yo, k4
Row 20-21 : knit
Row 22 :       (third increase row) k3 *kfb, k1* to last 4 sts, k4 ( 163 stitches)
Row 23–25 :  knit

And this is where the pattern ends for the yoke but as I am making it bigger, I will be adding in some more rows

Row 26 :        k3 * k2tog, yo* to last 3 sts, yo, k3
Row 27-8 :   knit
Row 29 :       (fourth increase row) knit 10, KFB, [k6, KFB] until last 12 sts, k12 ( 184 stitches)
Row 30–33 : knit

Dividing of stitches
Row 34 :       knit 31 sts for front; Knit and place 34 sts for sleeve onto spare needle or thread  yarn thru; Knit 54 sts for back; Knit and place 34 sts for sleeve onto spare  needle or thread yarn thru; Knit 31 sts for front

Row 35 :         knit
Row 36-66:  stocking stitch remembering the 3 border stitches on either side in garter stitch
Row 67-73:   knit
Row 74 :         cast off *k2tog, put stitch back onto left needle* repeat across the row.

Sleeves
Divide the 34 sts onto the dpns (i picked up 1 stitch here at the end of the row otherwise you will have a big gap to sew closed)
Round 1            purl so that the garter stitch effect is obtained
Round 2-32     knit .
Round 33          (p2, p2tog) x4, p1, (p2,p2tog) x4, p1
Round 34-41   work 1-1 rib
Round 42         cast off *p2tog, put stitch back onto left needle* repeat across the row.

Weave in ends and draw ribbon through beading row at neck edge.

If you find any errors, plse let me know as its only I that have made this so far.

Enjoy and happy knitting.
20160706_200858

Leave a Reply

