FO and Pattern: Stay-Put Baby Mitts

Sknitty

Stay-Put Baby Mitts

P3220004.JPG

What makes them stay-put? A generous length of twisted 1X1 rib, a tie at the wrists, and a connecting cord (so even if the wee one does get them off, they’ll stay put to his jacket).

These were born of necessity (and love). I learned my precocious 14-month-old great-nephew simply would not leave any sort of hand coverings in place. Not good in a wintry clime.

I knew more or less what I wanted, and they are indeed a simple shape, so I started with Ann Budd’s Handy Book of Patterns. Problem was, these start out at a size of 2-4 years. So, with this starting point, I tried a few different cast on numbers to ballpark a size for about 18-24 months. The pattern below is for this single size, as my knowledge of baby sizes is sorely lacking. Notes are included for up- and down-sizing…

View original post 583 more words

Leave a Reply

