Rapture in the Bible, who, when, where and how – written by Diane D. Louw (Foxcroft)

Dated:  27 July 2011

This is a hot topic of late amongst so many people.    On the internet, in the book shops, in magazines and in conversations.  So I decided to look up the who, when, where and how this will all happen.  All passages quoted are from my Good News Bible Today’s English Version, First South African Edition, 1977.

And my first pitstop is in Genesis 5: 21 -24  (OT page 9)

When Enoch was 65, he had a son, Methuselah.  After that, Enoch lived in fellowship with God for 300 years and had other children.  He lived to be 365 years old.  He spent his life in fellowship with God, and then he disappeared, because God took him away.

In my mind, Enoch was raptured.   But is there any other proof of this.  Well I found it in Hebrews 11:5 (NT page 280)

It was faith that kept Enoch from dying.  Instead, he was taken up to God and nobody
could find him, because God had taken him up.

I think everyone will agree,that yes, Enoch was raptured.  But is that it?  Was he the only one??  Lets continue on this search of mine and see what gets revealed.

Lets read 2 Kings 2: 1-12 (OT page 367)

The time came for the LORD to take Elijah up to heaven in a whirlwind.  Elijah and Elisha set out from Gilgal, and on the way, Elijah said to Elisha, “Now stay here;  the LORD has ordered me to go to Bethel.”  But Elisha answered, “I swear by my loyalty to the living LORD and to you that I will not leave you.’  So they went on to Bethel.  A group of prophets who lived there went to Elisha and asked him, “Do you know that the LORD is going to take your master away from you today?”  “Yes, I know,”  Elisha answered. “But let’s not talk about it.”  Then Elijah said to Elisha, “Now stay here;  the LORD has ordered me to go to Jericho.”  But Elisha answered, “I swear by my loyalty to the living LORD and to you that I will not leave you.”  So they went to Jericho.  A group of prophets who lived there went to Elisha and asked him, “ Do you know that the LORD is going to take your master away from you today?”  “Yes, I know,” Elisha answered “But let’s not talk about it.”  Then Elijah said to Elisha, “Now stay here;  the LORD has ordered me to go to the River Jordan.”  But Elisha answered, “I swear by my loyalty to the living LORD and to you that I will not leave you.”  So they went on, and fifty of the prophets
followed them to the Jordan.  Elijah and Elisha stopped by the river and the fifty prophets stood a short distance away.  Then Elijah took off his cloak, rolled it up, and struck the water with it;  the water divided, and he and Elisha crossed to the other side on dry ground.  There, Elijah said to Elisha, “Tell me what you want me to do for you before I am taken away.”  “Let me receive the share of your power that will make me your successor,” Elisha answered.  “That is a difficult request to grant,” Elijah replied.  “But you will receive it if you see me as I am being taken away from you;    if you don’t see me, you won’t receive it.”  They kept talking as they walked on; then suddenly a chariot of fire pulled by horses of fire came between them, and Elijah was taken up to heaven by a whirlwind.  Elisha saw it and cried out to Elijah, “My father, my father!  Mighty defender of Israel!  You are gone!” and he never saw Elijah again.

WOW!!!  That does not need an explanation at all.  Elijah too was raptured by the
LORD.  So here are two events.  Lets continue.

A while ago I was reading the book of Acts and I came upon a section in the scripture and I thought to myself – could it be?  Was he too raptured??

Lets look at that scripture and you decide for yourself.  Turn to Acts 8: 26-40 (NT page
161)

An angel of the Lord said to Philip, “Get ready and go south to the road that goes from Jerusalem to Gaza”  (This road is not used nowadays.)  So Philip got ready and went.  Now an Ethiopian eunuch, who was an important official in charge of the treasury of the queen of Ethiopia, was on his way home.  He had been to Jerusalem to worship God and was going back home in his carriage.  As he rode along, he was reading from the
book of the prophet Isaiah.  The Holy Spirit said to Philip, “go over to that carriage and stay close to it.  Philip ran over and heard him reading from the book of the prophet Isaiah.  He asked him, “Do you understand what you are reading?”   The official replied, “How can I understand unless someone explains it to me?”  And he invited Philip to climb
up and sit in the carriage with him.  The  passage of scripture which he was reading was this:

Like a sheep that is taken to be slaughtered, like a lamb that makes no sound when its wool is cut off, he did not say a word.  He was humiliated, and justice was denied him.  No one will be able to tell about this descendants, because his life on earth has come to an
end.

The official asked Philip, “Tell me, of whom is the prophet saying this?  Of himself or of someone else?”  Then Philip began to speak;  starting from this passage of scripture, he told him the Good News about Jesus.  As they travelled down the road, they came to
a place where there was some water, and the official said, “Here is some water.  What is to keep me from being baptized?”  The official ordered the carriage to stop, and both Philip and the official went down into the water, and Philip baptized him.  When they came up out of the water, the Spirit of the Lord took Philip away.  The official did not see him again, but continued on his way, full of joy.  So Philip found himself in Ashdod;
he went  on to Caesarea, and on the way he preached the Good News in every town.

I think Philip was.   But I am sure many will disagree.  And its okay to agree to disagree.

When we are raptured – will we be dead?  Or will we be alive?  Lets look what the scripture says….   Turn with me to 1 Corinthians 15: 50-54 (NT page 220)

What I mean, brothers, is that what is made of flesh and blood cannot share in God’s Kingdom, and what is mortal cannot possess immortality.  Listen to this secret truth:  we shall not all die, but when the last trumpet sounds, we shall all be changed in an instant, as quickly as the  blinking of an eye. For when the trumpet sounds, the dead will be raised, never to die again, and we shall all be changed.  For what is mortal must be
changed into what is immortal;  what will die must be changed into what cannot die.
So when this takes place, and the mortal has been changed into the immortal, then the scripture will come true:  “Death is destroyed; victory is complete!”

But, but…… turn to 1 Thessalonians 4: 13-18 (NT page 255)

Our brothers, we want you to know the truth about those who have died, so that you will not be sad, as are those who have no hope.  We believe that Jesus died and rose again, and so we believe that God will take back with Jesus those who have died believing in
him.  What we are teaching you now is the Lord’s teaching:  we who are alive
on the day the Lord comes will not go ahead of those who have died.  There will be the shout of command, the archangel’s voice, the sound of God’s trumpet, and the Lord himself will come down from heaven.  Those who have did believing in Christ will rise to life first;  then we who are living at that time will be gathered up along with them
in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air.   And so we will always be with the Lord.
So then, encourage one another with these words.”

And do I hear a big AMEN!!!  AMEN!!!.

We all know that Jesus died and rose again according to the scripture.  This is the 4th evidence of the rapture….

Turn to Revelation 12: 5 (NT page 314)

Then she gave birth to a son, who will rule over all nations with an iron rod.
But the child was snatched away and taken to God and his throne.

In my thoughts, the child that is been referred to is Jesus.

Again some will disagree, but that is their right.  This is more than enough proof, in my little mind, that the rapture does happen and it did happen before.

In my next study. I am busy finding all the scripture which will support The 2nd Coming.

The only books that I have used is my Bible, which I stated in the opening paragraph.  I would welcome any feedback for anyone.  Please be kind and not harsh in your
comments.

God bless you,  who have read this and I hope that it will answer the question of whether or not the rapture is real….

Blessings to all…

5 thoughts on “Rapture in the Bible, who, when, where and how – written by Diane D. Louw (Foxcroft)

  1. point about Paul about being caught up to the third heaven yes he was , but like John he was brought back. Paul was eventually beheaded by Nero and John was the only one or the original 12 that died an old age

  2. Yes, Paul was most likely talking about himself. Just as John did not name himself, but rather said “the disciple whom Jesus loved” about himself. It’s a way for them to maintain humility and not draw attention to themselves, but to Christ. This happens quite a few times in the New Testament. Even Mark may have been referring to himself in Mark 14:51-52.

Leave a Reply

