How to Use Up Yarn Scraps

1. Mandy | July 9th, 2012 at 10:21 am Since everything that I usually knit is for someone else, I keep the remaining scraps and wind them into tiny skeins/tiny balls and store them in a large, lidded glass urn in my craft room. From time to time, I pull them out and remember what I made with it — that baby blanket for my cousin’s new baby, a chemo hat for a friend who lost her battle with cancer… It’s nice to look back and remember.

2. Delores Wade | July 9th, 2012 at 10:24 am Last year I made knitted hats for charity and donated them to the church my daughter and husband go to. I made twenty five hats for men, woman and children, infants.

3. danielle | July 9th, 2012 at 10:27 am The lighter weight yarn is used to make baby bootees. I keep a basket full of bootees as gifts. Also baby hats. The bigger yarn is saved for blankets for groups I belong to – KAL that end up at animal shelters or charities

4. Jean | July 9th, 2012 at 10:28 am I have made two “raggedity” afghans by tying all my yarn scraps together leaving 2 inch lengths on regular knots. When I have a large ball of these scraps, I start crocheting with double crochet the desired width and let the knots fall where they may. This way, both side look the same and it is something ‘different’ both in pattern and colors.

5. Joan Stevens | July 9th, 2012 at 10:30 am I knit or crochet squares to make lap robes for nursing homes or the VA.

6. Pamela | July 9th, 2012 at 10:31 am I save up my scraps in a big glass bowl. When I have a good asst of colors I knit a long, colorful snake for one of my 6 grandsons. Some color sections are small, others wider but it doesn’t matter. Also different yarn weights are not a problem either when finished I add eyes and a tongue of tiny Icord or felt. To make it easier to stuff, I stuff as I go along.

7. Jennifer Wiseman | July 9th, 2012 at 10:31 am Random colored scarves are the best… Super cute!!

8. AJ | July 9th, 2012 at 10:33 am I make cat toys. Example: I had some black wool yarn, less grey, and a little bit of pink. I made a star-nosed mole! Black body, grey claws, and knotted pink for the star nose. Stuffed it with fabric scraps and catnip. Then my cat destroyed it. sigh.

9. MELINDA | July 9th, 2012 at 10:34 am for my scraps i gave them all to my 7 yr old who is learning to knit and she is making book marks out of them. i thought that it would be a good way for her to start, she says that she is going to sell her works at the block party at the end of the month. so far she has 5 finished. and getting better at it everyday!

10. Jeanette | July 9th, 2012 at 10:37 am I collect the scrap balls and make scrap afghans that are donated to charity.

11. Connie Hendricks | July 9th, 2012 at 10:39 am right now I’m working on the Lizzard Ridge 24 sq afghan & I’m keeping all my scraps tog & when I’m done I’m going to use them all to make a small basket & felt it so it will go with my afghan.

12. Karen Patterson | July 9th, 2012 at 10:50 am I love my yarn scraps and wind them into balls, lately I have been making scrunchies and flowers for barrettes and headbands. My granddaughters like me to crochet them bracelets….

13. Aunty Stephy | July 9th, 2012 at 10:50 am I knit cat nip toys (knit two circles, hearts, whatever, sew together, stuff with catnip). They make great presents.

14. Sue | July 9th, 2012 at 10:54 am Scrap lab blankets as Christmas gifts for nursing homes residents who otherwise would not receive a gift, and premie caps for hospital donation.

15. Sue | July 9th, 2012 at 10:55 am ***lap*** blankets for nursing home residents…..my apologies for sending without proofreading!

16. Lynn G. | July 9th, 2012 at 11:02 am All my scraps are kept in large plastic see through tubs by brand. I go to craft shows so I make a lot of dish cloths, hot pads, scrubbies, barettes, scrunchies, headbands; etc. When my Mom goes to the chemo clinic, I take some chemo hats and leave them on the table for who ever would like to take them. My Mom loves her hats! And, I totally enjoy making them.

17. Jennifer Lucas | July 9th, 2012 at 11:12 am I make lots and lots of scrumbles for freeform crochet projects!

18. Cindy | July 9th, 2012 at 11:15 am I save up a bunch of them and weave a crazy scarf on my 12″ Cricket loom!

19. Helen | July 9th, 2012 at 11:28 am I crochet for Project Linus. Nothing goes to waste.

20. jeanette | July 9th, 2012 at 11:36 am Coasters, covered hangers, purse-size Kleenex covers, coffee cozy

21. Juenell | July 9th, 2012 at 12:05 pm I use my scraps by knitting scarves, gloves, caps etc. for my 5 grandchildren. Wash cloths are fun to make also.

22. Janice | July 9th, 2012 at 12:10 pm I use them to make hats and mittens and I also use them to stuff small crocheted or knitted toys.

23. Jami Brandon | July 9th, 2012 at 12:15 pm I am new to knitting/crochet (about a year now) and don’t have a lot of scraps yet, but I am using some leftover cotton yarn to make a Kindle cover in crochet right now!

24. Margaret Savidge | July 9th, 2012 at 12:15 pm I make hats and sweaters for preemies for a local hospital neo-natal unit.

25. Kat | July 9th, 2012 at 12:35 pm I’m afraid I do not do anything as special as these other gals. I use my cotton scraps to crochet dishcloths. As for acrylic (or blends), I am planning to (have not yet started) make granny squares with them.

26. JJMolvik | July 9th, 2012 at 12:39 pm My favorite use of sock yarn scraps was a very basic garter stitch, increasing @ the ends, shawl! It has all sorts of colors, mostly wool yarns. It is warm and lightweight and goes with everything!

27. Sharon Gardner | July 9th, 2012 at 12:47 pm Other than using them for little odds and ends for accents on crochet projects I make “magic balls” of yarn and crochet into scrap afghans or I spool knit with them and then take this cord with an S hook and crochet rugs for my dogs to take their naps on.

28. Meredith | July 9th, 2012 at 1:05 pm Baby hats, from micro-preemie to full-term babies, for my local NICU.

29. ritainalaska | July 9th, 2012 at 1:42 pm back in the day, i used my scrap yarn for doll blankies, mittens, slippers and toys. these days i just give the leftovers to my nieces to make for their grankids, since my daughters and theirs do not craft … sigh.

30. darlene kovach | July 9th, 2012 at 1:51 pm I’ve started to make a variety of small nintendo characters with my leftover yarn.

31. BJMarley | July 9th, 2012 at 2:19 pm So many wonderful ideas for using scrap yarn. I use worsted weight yarn in a multicolor afghan. Other scraps I let my girls have to make bracelets.

32. Beverly | July 9th, 2012 at 2:39 pm Afghans mostly.

33. Kendra Maynard | July 9th, 2012 at 2:39 pm Granny squares! Always love to do those. Easy, fast, and very portable. And I can make all kinds of things with them when I have made enough

34. Susan Maldonado | July 9th, 2012 at 2:42 pm I crochet for everyone in my family and always have lots of left over scraps. This past January I took those scraps and made my 8 year old grand daughter a housecoat of many colors. She loves it so much she wore it to school as a coat! Those are the joys of crocheting!!

35. Carol Rodewald Anderson | July 9th, 2012 at 2:43 pm I roll little scraps into balls and put in a large see thru jug. I often make small amigurumi so I only need small amounts of yarn. I also use it to stuff amigurumi

. 36. Christie Bullard | July 9th, 2012 at 2:44 pm My daughter loves for me to make her anything so I usually use my scrap yarn to make her flowers or little “critter” blankets or “critter” hats and scarves

37. Shelia | July 9th, 2012 at 2:45 pm I match yarn types and make toys, booties, or hotpads using piece work. Some of the most colorful ones are made of leftovers from other projects.

38. Laura | July 9th, 2012 at 2:45 pm If the pieces of yarn are quite small, I just toss them outside for the birds, or save them in a baggie for spring and put them near the birdfeeders. I have peeked into some nests and found them lined with the thread I didn’t use. For longer pieces I just tie them together and gradually make a large ball from them. It knit them with pieces of tulle to make pot scrubbers of various sizes that I sell in a friend’s gift shop. Some people really seem to like the unpredictable variety of the yarn this way.

39. steph alex | July 9th, 2012 at 2:45 pm Working on a scrappy steps afghan, from bethintx on youtube, I’ve also put aside some 9″ granny squares. I’m decorating a new home 40. Martha Shaw | July 9th, 2012 at 2:45 pm I use the scrap yarn for many things. I make flowers for hair and hat accesories. I also use scraps to make the bookworm and other bookmarks.

41. Tina Howell | July 9th, 2012 at 2:45 pm To make amigurumi for Christmas give-away

. 42. Tamara | July 9th, 2012 at 2:47 pm Too funny, I just did a whole blog post about this! I use them to make tags for labeling things, and to make motifs and squares that can be joined into a blanket later!

43. Dorothy | July 9th, 2012 at 2:47 pm Make afgans, caps, scarves and small teddy bears for charity. The bears are all crochet and embroidery, so nothing for little fingers to pull off and eat. I make a Bobby Bear and a Betsy bear.

44. monca | July 9th, 2012 at 2:48 pm I use the gauge 4″ samples and 4″ knitted or crochet scrap leftover yarn to make baby blankets or lap quilts for charity. they are very much appreciated.

45. Lori | July 9th, 2012 at 2:51 pm Every year the local art guild has a day for kids to learn different arts and crafts. They teach painting, spinning, knitting, tatting, basket weaving, origami and a whole host of other things. I save my scraps to teach the kids how to crochet. I get to send them home with a small ball of yarn and I stocked up on crochet hooks so they can have a hook to take home also.

46. Teresa | July 9th, 2012 at 2:52 pm I am using my scraps to make a giant blanket for my family to all wrap up in. I keep adding on to it after each project that I have left overs.

47. Debbie | July 9th, 2012 at 2:53 pm I use mine for plastic canvas projects I make

48. Sophia Weston | July 9th, 2012 at 2:55 pm I’ve just started a business making crochet and knitted items for all ages. I love the newborn costumes used for photoshoots, especially cute headbands for the little girls. My scraps generally get used for the flowers/hearts or other decorations for the costumes. (Then again, that’s only if my two year old doesn’t steal the balls first)

49. Karen | July 9th, 2012 at 2:55 pm I LOVE making scrapghans! I, also, enjoy making catghans and doghans for a local no-kill animal shelter where my husband volunteers.

50. Ingrid Struemph | July 9th, 2012 at 2:55 pm I love all the suggestions! I have a large collection of scap balls and did not know what to do with them. I am going to make some cat toys now.

51. Danica Walker | July 9th, 2012 at 2:55 pm I am crocheting a blanket for my grandson like my mom did for my son when he was little. Oh, he still has it. Tell everyone this how is learned his colors with the blanket his grandmom made him. :

) 52. Emma McCann | July 9th, 2012 at 2:56 pm I talk all of my scraps and tie them together, leaving little tails…..and then crochet an afghan as it grows! Looks awesome!

53. Carole | July 9th, 2012 at 3:00 pm I use my scrap yarn to make blankets.

54. Agnes | July 9th, 2012 at 3:02 pm I use left yarn to make charity items like scarfs and squares for afghans.

55. KittenWithAWhiplash | July 9th, 2012 at 3:19 pm Along with other supplies, schools can always use yarn, whether it’s scraps of just a few feet for use in arts and crafts, or whole skeins for knitting and crochet, which many schools are now teaching. I try to donate at least 10 pounds of yarn a year to the three schools in my area

56. Lisa Krugh | July 9th, 2012 at 3:22 pm Scraps are great for scarves, hats, and lapghans. Someone just gave me a TON of scarp yarn and I’m anxious to create a project!

57. Barbara. Randall | July 9th, 2012 at 3:34 pm I make pot holders/dish cloths/Swiffer sweeper covers/doggy toys. Always have something to give as “Happy’s” to family and friends.

58. Norma Wright | July 9th, 2012 at 3:36 pm Last year I sent several long scarves (6″ wide and long enough to wrap around a time or two)home with my daughter when she returned to Washington, DC. I packaged them neatly in a gallon ziplock bag, tucked a Christian tract inside and she took them to give to homeless people waiting near her train stop. What a grand feeling that is to know that someone will be warm in the bitter cold of winter. They don’t care what color(s) they are as long as they can use them to keep warm.

59. denise tribble | July 9th, 2012 at 3:43 pm I make scrap baby hats and scrap granny square afghans to use up the ends. Also, the pieces that I cut off of any yarn and any odd strings that are not long enough to put in things, I put them in a box and mix them with polyfill to stuff things. I believe in recycling all pieces of the yarn.

60. Donna | July 9th, 2012 at 3:44 pm To stuff toys

61. Lori Sue Johnson | July 9th, 2012 at 3:49 pm There is no such thing as a scrap. It is all wonderful, glorious yarn. I have a large plastic tote filled with small balls of yarn. I turn them into colorful afghans. One became a granny’s daughter afghan that was a wedding gift. One became a teardrop afghan for a fundraiser, one became a queen sized afghan made of 12 inch squares that lives on my bed. I also often shop my stash for bits to create animals and amigurami.

62. Karen Nelson | July 9th, 2012 at 3:51 pm I make little flowers for pins for gifts and or Decorations! Love them!

63. Stacey Calta | July 9th, 2012 at 3:51 pm I tend to save up all my extra yarn, and then make 2 or 3 scrap, crazy color afghans….

64. Char55 | July 9th, 2012 at 3:56 pm I use my scraps as well as reclaimed yarn from UFOs (un-finished objects) to make colorful baby blankets and cat blankets. No two are ever alike, and I can try new design ideas out on them.

65. Jessica Estey | July 9th, 2012 at 4:19 pm I use the scraps to make preemie hats and baby booties and I donate them to a local crisis pregnancy center.

66. April | July 9th, 2012 at 4:20 pm I like to make patchwork and granny square items out of scraps, though lately I have been finding neat ways to create dog and cat toys out of my yarn and sewing scraps. I love the challenge of looking at a length of yarn or material and figuring out something fun to do with it. Did you know that you can tie someone up with as little as 8″ of rope or good string.

67. Anne Nolan | July 9th, 2012 at 4:20 pm Small pieces that can’t be crocheted with I use for stuffing or kids crafts. I normally give the longer scraps to the recipient of a crocheted gift in case repair needs to be made.

68. Leigh | July 9th, 2012 at 4:27 pm I use my ‘left overs’ to make scarves for needy people and baby blankets for a group home for unwed mothers.69. LuAnne | July 9th, 2012 at 4:50 pm I crochet ghans for homeless shelter. I tie on scraps as I go, with no concern for color matching. Unfortunately, there are people who work at shelters that will take the ghans home if they are pretty. With thread, I tie together the same way, use 2 strands together (sometimes with a 3rd of black or white) to make string mesh market bags.

70. Charlotte Ryers | July 9th, 2012 at 5:03 pm I make hats and scarves for nursing home patients. Currently I am making a afghan that changes color every other row. Just randomly pulling colors from my stash. Using the pattern vfor the blackberry salad striped baby blanket from mooglyblog.com

71. Pat | July 9th, 2012 at 5:05 pm I seem to knit smaller and smaller projects with the bits of yarn. Stripe baby or doll hats, stripe cell phone cozies, edging on a baby sweater and patchwork or stripe dishcloths. Every bit is used if I can get it around my needles.

72. Janice | July 9th, 2012 at 5:08 pm I use them to knit up funky hats and socks to give away and I use them to stuff small crocheted or knitted toys.

73. Sandie Dodgson | July 9th, 2012 at 5:12 pm I use leftover scraps to crochet flowers or cat toys.

74. Shelby | July 9th, 2012 at 5:16 pm Make flowers, buttons, bracelets, cat toys, stuffing for other projects, or use them to create a scrap blanket!

75. Joey Vigeant | July 9th, 2012 at 5:23 pm Lately, I have been making small coals for my MIL to sell for charity. If the scraps are small, they make great cat toys

76. paulette fritz | July 9th, 2012 at 5:27 pm I PUT MY LITTLE SCRAPS OUTSIDE FOR THE BIRDS NESTING.

77. Gail Hogsten | July 9th, 2012 at 5:53 pm I make a little “jar like” thing with a face worked into it. Then fill it with scrap yarn, and use some yarn to attatch to the top round, as hair. With a drawstring in the top round, I draw it closed & tie it off. They’re called Scrappers, and kids love them. So I can give something to kids that costs me nothing except a bit of time. 78. Mary Mac | July 9th, 2012 at 6:21 pm Make small squares and save them up to use on other projects.

79. jo | July 9th, 2012 at 6:47 pm I make blankets for very poor children who are cold in the winter. I ship them to an orphanage in Russia. I have Been doing it for 42 years.

80. Lora | July 9th, 2012 at 7:23 pm I use my left over yarn to make a shawl for myself and sock monkey vest and hats . They lool so nice done with the left over yarn .The left over yarn shawls remind me who got what from me . As I very seldom keep anything that I make I try to make sure that it goes to someone that will take care of it and love it as much as I did when I was knitting it . And no I never charge anyone who gets my work .

81. Lyz | July 9th, 2012 at 7:25 pm If I don’t use them in smaller projects (e.g. Flowers), I have used them in stuffing very small pieces of amigurumi. Also, in spring, I’ll let small scraps go outside where they find their into birds’ nests.

82. Lauri R | July 9th, 2012 at 8:37 pm I made a bunch of flowers and used them for SWAPS at Day Camp. Other scraps, I roll into balls and donate to a program for disabled adults.

83. Terry S | July 9th, 2012 at 8:47 pm I make coasters and dish clothes

84. Jeannette | July 9th, 2012 at 9:24 pm I wind the small leftovers into little balls and use that to teach people how to make granny squares or a swatch of a specific stitch that they can refer back to later. My grandchildren have made me tons of chain stitch jewelry. Larger leftovers are made in to afghans, scarves, hats or slippers to donate to a charity.

85. Free Crochet Patterns, Fr&hellip | July 10th, 2012 at 10:13 am […] Readers En-Gauge: How to Use Up Yarn Scraps Winner! […]

86. Readers En-Gauge: How to &hellip | July 11th, 2012 at 5:50 am […] posted here: Readers En-Gauge: How to Use Up Yarn – Free Crochet Patterns … ← Sew Me Something Good: Carried […]

87. MickeyNDY | July 15th, 2012 at 10:32 am I have been taking all my bits and pieces of scrap yarn and making a triangle entrelac shawl with them. Just bout every block or every few blocks is a color change. But, no loose ends to weave in! Why? Because at the end of the row, I take more bits and pieces and join them all with Russian joins before starting the next row. No strings attached!

88. Free Crochet Patterns, Fr&hellip | July 16th, 2012 at 9:22 am […] question, and if you leave an answer in the comments. It’s easy peasy! Last week we asked you how do you use up your yarn scraps. Be sure to check out everyone’s inspiring […]

89. Denise | July 19th, 2012 at 5:23 pm I save them, sorted by weight, and eventually will make my sisters and I deliberately non-matching socks. In fact may make them in sets of three instead of a pair!

90. Betty Willoughby | July 19th, 2012 at 6:37 pm I use left over sock yarn to make striped, crazy socks for toddlers and little kids. Make crazy ball using russian join and knit away. Kids and grandmothers love them

91. Alison | July 19th, 2012 at 6:47 pm I use all different colors and weights to make beautiful flowers in all different sizes. I sew on pin backs or elastic and they are being donated as a fund raiser for our local arboretum to help fund the butterfly garden! So far, I have about 50 of them and no two are alike. I’m using leftover and extra buttons as the centers.

92. May | July 19th, 2012 at 6:49 pm I keep all my scraps for when I am making jumpers with pictures on ie Hello Kitty jumper for my great niece,as you often only need small amounts of one coulor for eyes noses flowers etc.

93. Irene | July 19th, 2012 at 7:00 pm You can make different size bowls with all the ends. The more colors the better. Use them around the house to hold all kinds of things, with larger bowls you can keep small balls of yarn in them for your next project.

94. Beverly | July 19th, 2012 at 7:29 pm I use them to make doll clothes and accessories for our yearly Christmas doll giveaway to children’s homes and for children of imates of our local jail.

95. Lois | July 19th, 2012 at 7:56 pm I knit hats for our troops serving in Afghanistan.There Winters are cold.

96. Denise Dube-Bastarache | July 19th, 2012 at 8:20 pm I have approx. 300 skeins of scrap, so this year I made a goal to use up all my “used” yarn. I have been doing small projects like dishcloths, and wonderful patterns I have discovered on the website. I am keeping some of everything I have and I am going to make a “Patchwork Blanket” for Me…as I never make anything just for me! It will always remind me of all the things that I have made for others.

97. Madeline | July 19th, 2012 at 8:31 pm I use my scraps to make stripes on the hats that I knit for the Knitting for Children with Cancer group. Absolutely nothing goes to waste. If the yarn is too thin, I just combine with another yarn. My hats are fabulous. Check them out at my blog http://www.mhincken.blogspot.com. I just need more places to store and hide my yarn!

98. Laurilee | July 19th, 2012 at 8:39 pm I like to use my scraps and make hats with them. Striped hats are always fun to give and wear

99. Juanita Smith | July 19th, 2012 at 8:45 pm I’ve been knitting socks for the last couple of years and I use the left overs from adult socks and make small ones for kids. Sometimes there are two or three different patterns of yarn in each pair, but they are fun to wear.

100. Treva | July 19th, 2012 at 10:04 pm I use yarn scraps to tie quilts.

101. Dina | July 20th, 2012 at 1:13 am I cut my leftover yarn into 4″ to 6″ lengths and tie them together leaving a 1″ tail at each end. I use this to make shaggy hats for charity.

102. Tanya | July 20th, 2012 at 1:46 am I am one of a knitting group and we knit for charity, so I use my scraps for my log cabin blankets, which look stunning. The babies don’t mind if they are made of scraps or multi-coloured. I also leave the little tufts where the scraps are joined – I think they give the blankies character.

103. Brenda Muller | July 20th, 2012 at 2:22 am I knit all sorts of things. Jerseys, scarves, bed socks, hats, fingerless gloves, cellphone covers, gear lever ‘hats’, steering wheel covers, pillows for the car, etc. From this collection, I give to church feits, hospitals for babies, underprivileged children and aged. I just luv knitting and giving away. It makes me very happy and satisfied in my heart

. 104. Elizabeth | July 20th, 2012 at 5:42 am I love making BABY SOCKS, rather than booties, with yarn remnants. A ball of sock weight yarn the size of a walnut will make baby socks!! They fit and stay on better than booties. a golf ball size bit of yarn will make socks for a 3 year old. Something you can finish in a weekend if you don’t have too many other obligations. E

105. darlene | July 20th, 2012 at 6:46 am i knit or crochet tote bags and everyone loves them!

106. Susan Youngren | July 20th, 2012 at 8:05 am I make blankets for Project Linus – with and without scraps.

107. Birgitta | July 20th, 2012 at 8:35 am I have knitted a colourful dress and boleroshirt out of scrap-yarns. I love them and they turned out just beautiful.

108. Bee | July 20th, 2012 at 9:27 am what is a Russian join?

109. Harriet | July 20th, 2012 at 9:29 am I make latch hook rugs for people that do not have carpet. I cut the scraps in 1′ to 3′ pieces and hook them into the canvis. The runs are colorful and wanm to walk on in the winter.

110. jAN c | July 20th, 2012 at 10:34 am My mother’s friend gave me a pattern years ago to make what she called an Indian Blanket. You leave about a 5 or 6″ length at the beginning, then sc across the row, and leave another 5 or 6″ length at the end. You now have fringe. The second row and from then on, you count 10 stitches, and then sc in the 10 st in the row below the one you are working on. You can leave this for months at a time, (to get more scraps) or just to work on something else. I seem to lose a lot of these afghans that I make. My kids just borrow them.

http://stitchandunwind.com/readers-en-gauge-how-to-use-up-yarn-scraps/#

2 thoughts on “How to Use Up Yarn Scraps

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.